top of page

Let us help you succeed!

  • Facebook App Icon
  • YouTube Classic
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon

Add me as your FREE Coach

HERE!

Fun Chalk Paint DIY Project


A little DIY project that's totally not health and fitness related but it's still FUN!

Today I thought I'd share a little of what's been going on around our house. We've recently started repainting and overhauling our daughters' room and during the project, I asked a close friend of ours whos great at refurbishing and decorating what was a good paint to redo our girls little dressers. I am so glad she pointed us towards Annie Sloan Chalk Paint! It is the easiest to use, little to no preporation, no sanding, and the possabilities are endless and absolutly amazing!

Today, I decided to show you all a little time lapse video (bottom of post) and some photos of my most recent chalk paint project.

This is actually an old sewing machine table that we found...somewhere? Anyway, all I did to prep this table before painting is wipe it down with a damp cloth.

Items I used:

Annie Sloan Chalk paint - Color Florence

Annie Sloan Soft Wax - Clear

Annie Sloan Soft Wax - Dark

A couple paint brushes, one for the paint and one for the wax

A small 100 grit sanding block

and some cheese cloth

Here are a couple befor photos before I started

After wiping the desk down with a damp cloth, I immediately started painting. I used quick back and forth strokes to create a little texture. It really doesn't matter if you follow the grain at all but I know it's hard not too, but just get in all the cracks and just get it covered.

It only took about 30 minutes for the paint to dry and then I took the clear wax and brush and put a thin coat over the entire desk. And then I immediately took some cheese cloth and wiped it all down removing the excess wax and lightly rubbing it in.

This clear wax gives the chalk paint a pretty shine. It acually looks like old paint thats been rubbed and smoothed by hand over a long period of time. Pretty cool!

After the coat of clear wax I took a small 100 grit sanding block and just bumped the edges of the desk where it would normally recieve wear over time. I was also sure to hit the handle a little bit to bring out the bronze color.

Once I finished the quick sanding, I took the dark soft wax and brush and coated the entire desk in the dark wax being sure to get it into all the little nooks and crannies. I then immediately took some more cheese cloth and wiped off the excess.

The finished desk with the dark wax looks pretty cool! It has that old, but classy look!


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Apply to be added to our next

FREE challenge group

Our Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss
Read More About me

We are Andy and Danielle Neher, we live in the beautiful farm country of southwest MO where we are raising our four wonderful children and building an wonderful life of love and freedom...

 

 

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page